Around The Well

by Iron And Wine

Original Release Date: 2009-05-19

Around The Well

Around the Well is a collection of “rarities” from Iron & Wine: outtakes, B-sides, soundtrack cuts, demos. Considering the low profile of the “band” in question (really singer-songwriter Sam Beam with whomever he chooses to collaborate), it’s merely a handy-dandy assembly of stray tracks that loyal fans will want in order to complete their collection. Everything that makes Beam such an attractive performer is here. The soft, whispered vocals, the impeccable finger-picked acoustics, the thoughtful enigmatic lyrics, the laidback, chilling melodies all coalesce into a formidable whole. If these are “leftovers,” then Beam is one solid, prolific songwriter. Covers of the Postal Service’s “Such Great Heights” (featured in the film Garden State) and the Flaming Lips’ “Waitin’ for a Superman” add to the intrigue factor. The 23 tracks begin with mostly quiet, unadorned acoustic tunes (“Loud As Hope” is simply gorgeous) with slide guitar and hushed arrangements, eventually expanding into fuller band excursions such as “Kingdom of the Animals” where piano and electric slide spike the punch. 


  1. Dearest Forsaken
  2. Morning
  3. Loud As Hope
  4. Peng! 33
  5. Sacred Vision
  6. Friends They Are Jewels
  7. Hickory
  8. Waitin’ For A Superman
  9. Swans And The Swimming
  10. Call Your Boys
  11. Such Great Heights
  12. Communion Cups & Someone’s Coat
  13. Belated Promise Ring
  14. God Made The Automobile
  15. Homeward, These Shoes
  16. Love Vigilantes
  17. Sinning Hands
  18. No Moon
  19. Serpent Charmer
  20. Carried Home
  21. Kingdom Of The Animals
  22. Arms Of A Thief
  23. The Trapeze Swinger

Apple Music


Iron and Wine - Love Vigilantes (a New Order cover)

More Videos

Release Images

Release Information

Key Value
Format Vinyl 2× LP Compilation, Vinyl 12" 33 ⅓ RPM Single Sided Etched
Label Sub Pop
Catalog Number SP 808
Notes Includes an MP3 download coupon for the entire album + insert with lyrics. ‘Love Vigilantes’ recorded December 13, 2004 at KUOW, Puget Sound Public Radio, Seattle, WA. All songs written by Sam Beam (Sam Beam Music)[BMI], except ‘Waitin’ For Superman’ — W. Coyne, S. Drozd, M. Ivins (EMI Blackwood Music, Lovely Sorts of Death)[BMI] / ‘Peng! 33’ — L. Sadier, T. Gane (Universal Music MGB Songs OBO Complete Music Limited)[ASCAP] / ‘Such Great Heights’ — B. Gibbard, J. Tamborello (Fake Songs/Dying Songs (Administered by Bicycle Music) ) [BMI] / ‘Love Vigilantes’ — S. Morris, P. Hook, B. Sumner, G. Gilbert (WB Music Corp OBO Warner/Chappell Music Ltd)[ASCAP] F-side is an etched album/artist artwork. © ℗ 2009 Sub Pop Records
Discogs URL Iron And Wine - Around The Well